Pan-roasted salmon and vine-ripened tomatoes

15 May

Where I work, one of the ‘specials’ is advertised as ‘pan-roasted’ salmon. Talk about culinary innovation. Roasting in, of all things, a pan! What next! I should try it. My attempts with a plastic bucket never came out that well.
There’s also an ad on tram stops lately for instant soup flavoured with ‘vine ripened tomatoes’. All tomatoes are ripened on a vine. Even in these heady modern times, no tomato grows to ripeness floating in a vat of nutrient solution or via molecular assembly in a cyclotron. Really, they do talk some crap.

2 Responses to “Pan-roasted salmon and vine-ripened tomatoes”

  1. Mick Daley May 15, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    I still loves ya Pierre

  2. Marty May 28, 2012 at 5:46 am #

    Pete, it’s Marty. Ruth just showed me your blog this morning and I have been laughing out loud at your astute, witty observations and descriptions. So great. I shall forward this address to other friends as you most certainly deserve an extended audience after not even 1 month at the keys! I look forward to your subsequent posts. Good one Pete

Leave a Reply

